$2.50 Lunch on Saturday!!

Your chance to eat cheap and support a great cause on Saturday. Visit any M&M Meats location to support their 21st Annual M&M Meat Shops Charity BBQ Day benefiting the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada (CCFC).

The first time I ever heard of Crohn’s disease was when I was a teenager and in the hospital. The girl I was sharing a hospital room with had Crohn’s but no one knew what was wrong with me.  Since I was 8 years old, something would make really sick and no one seemed to know what it was.  I was a ridiculously skinny kid too; used to joke that the more I ate, the more weight I lost.  I had one doctor convinced it was allergies.  One wanted to take my appendix out “just in case.” One even said I was manifesting the symptoms just to get attention.

I read about Crohn’s in a magazine a few years later and told my friend “I have this!!” because I had every single symptom.  Of course, I didn’t think anything of it later, because how many times have you read about some kind of illness or condition and thought you had cancer or a brain tumor or whatever they were talking about?

It wasn’t until I was 18 and in the emergency room in Sydney, Australia at two in the morning that a doctor told me she thought I had Crohn’s.  I was sicker than I’ve ever been in my life; weighed less than a 100 lbs, was being rushed into surgery half a planet away from my mother and it took a new set of eyes in a foreign hospital to diagnose me.

I look back and think it’s because it’s a disease that no one talks about.  It’s embarrassing; especially as a child when many of the symptoms can manifest.  No one wants to discuss their intestines or bowel movements.  God forbid the kids at school find out your going for a colonoscopy!  Canada has some of the highest numbers of Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis in the world, but hardly anyone knows anything about it.

Maybe you know someone with Crohn’s or colitis.  In fact, with 200,000 cases of IBD in Canada alone, there’s probably a good chance you do…and they just don’t talk about it.  So, tomorrow – let’s get everyone talking.  This is the CCFC’s largest annual fundraising activity by any single supporter. Every penny raised – because the food and time is all volunteered – goes directly to the CCFC for its research programs. 

I’ll be down at the Bonnie Doone M&M Meats from 1-5, but you can stop by ANY location from 10a-4p to get a hamburger or hot dog, a drink and a bag of chips for a minimum donation of $2.50.

Thanks for your help!

About radionesta

Martha Stewart with Betty Page bangs. I love my glue gun, drunk gardening, roller derby and radio. I prefer my music loud and my wine big, red & juicy. View all posts by radionesta

Leave a Reply

