How Ignorant!

Kanye West, musician (and, ironically, about-to-be-released author) doesn’t read books and the jerk is actually bragging about it!

In a recent interview he says, “I am a proud non-reader of books. I like to get information from doing stuff like actually talking to people and living real life.”

I know a lot of non-readers.  I can’t personally wrap my brain around it – what do you do when you’re sitting on the beach or waiting for a bus? – but there are lot of people that just don’t have the patience or the interest to read a book.  But to actually be proud of it?I’m a huge reader.  The staff at the library know me by name; I worked in a book store in college; I buy purses based on the fact of whether I can fit a book in them or not; to say I’m a book addict might actually be understating the cause.  At the same time, I’m definitely a talker (just ask my mother) and I’ve got more hobbies, activities and interests than I actually have time for.  So, being a reader doesn’t necessarily cancel out “living real life.”

Bragging about not reading…just not cool in this day and age.  Boo to Kanye!

About radionesta

Martha Stewart with Betty Page bangs. I love my glue gun, drunk gardening, roller derby and radio. I prefer my music loud and my wine big, red & juicy. View all posts by radionesta

Leave a Reply

