The Gratitude Project

Gratitude is the intention to count your blessings every day, every minute, while avoiding, whenever possible, the belief that you need or deserve different circumstances.
— Timothy Miller

The Gratitude Project was something started in the hopes that focusing on the good things that surround us would make us happier, reduce our level of stress, and allow us to cope better when difficulties arose.

It’s a very simple theory that, like any theory or idea, has managed to evolve over the last couple years. But, at the heart of it, the simple question is what are the everyday things that you are grateful for?

1. My health. Especially since, between my ability to constantly injure myself and my Crohn’s, I can’t always take it for granted. Even those crappy days remind me how fortunate I am to not have to deal on an everyday basis.

2. My Mom. I know that EVERYOBODY says that, but I really do have the most amazing mother. Ever. Really. My mom kicks your mom and everyone else’s mom’s ass. Sorry about that.

3. My dog, Blue. I really and truly love my dog. There are times I seriously want to kick her ass – like when she raids the fridge – but mostly I realize that I really don’t know what I’d do without her. She’s loving, a cuddle-whore, smart as a whip…the perfect dog. At least, perfect for me. As she gets older, I’m able to appreciate that she won’t be around for too many more years and I am grateful to not only have the time we have yet, but for her health and happiness too.

4. My fella, the Wine Chef. Truly the best thing to ever happen to me. With him, I am not only myself, but happy with who I am too. And, he calms me. I know that sounds really odd, but just being with him gives me a great sense of calmness that I’ve never experienced before. If I was stuck on a deserted island for the rest of my life and had to pick one person to hang out forever, I would pick him.

5. My brains. I’m a smart cookie, I’m very fortunate. I did very well in school, I learn new things quickly. Being brighter than the average bear was something I was proud of when I was younger, but now I realize it was just luck of the draw. I recognize how much easier life has been because of my brain, and I love how it makes me never want to stop learning.

6.  Books. I love reading. Lock me in a room by myself and, so long as I’ve got some books to read, I’m a happy camper.

7. Gardening. I don’t know when I became an old lady, but I am so happy playing out there in my garden. I’m already plotting out what’s going in the garden this year and am ridiculously excited about it!! Now, I just need this weather to improve so I can get planting.

I’m sure there’s more than 7 things that I’m excited for, but these are the ones that jump out at me at first.

What are the everyday things that make you grateful?

About radionesta

Martha Stewart with Betty Page bangs. I love my glue gun, drunk gardening, roller derby and radio. I prefer my music loud and my wine big, red & juicy. View all posts by radionesta

Leave a Reply

